4. Ike Reilly Assassination – Double Door – March 18, 2016

Why It Was Great: This is a show I took a flier on since it was on Jukely and turned into one of those unexpected gems.  The crowd was almost all hard-core fans who knew every song.  I didn’t know any but by the end of the night I was filling up my Spotify playlists with Ike.

Highlight: Ike told a story about how his son had to put together a poster on the origin of his name for school and how he hadn’t seen it before attending a function at school. I’m going to butcher the telling but it went something like this:

-My first name is Shane after Shane MacGowan, lead singer of the Pogues.  He’s the word’s greatest song writer, an alcoholic and is missing most of teeth.

-My middle name is Michael after my dad.  He write’s songs and drinks too.

Leave a Reply

